Menu Close

Larry Tanenbaum (OC) Inducted into the Road Building Hall of Fame

MISSISSAUGA, ON, Feb. 15, 2013 /CNW/ – The Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA) would like to congratulate Mr. Larry Tanenbaum (OC) the latest inductee into the Road Building Hall of Fame. Mr. Tanenbaum was elected on February 12, 2013 by the ORBA Board of Directors, Past Presidents, and current Hall of Fame members, for his work with the Kilmer Van Nostrand Company Ltd. (KVN), having served as President and Chief Executive Officer since 1968, and as Chairman since 2000.

Throughout his career Mr. Tanenbaum has demonstrated a strong dedication to ORBA, the road-building industry, and construction more broadly, having built KVN into a multi-faceted construction operation, with divisions and subsidiaries covering road building and paving, ready-mix concrete, aggregates, heavy construction, trucking, and pipe manufacturing. Under his guidance, KVN’s subsidiary The Warren Paving and Materials Group Ltd. grew to become Canada’s largest asphalt paving company, achieving $600 million of revenue until it was merged with Lafarge in 2000. Following the merger, Mr. Tanenbaum became a director on the Board of Lafarge North America and Chaired its Finance Committee until the 2006 buyout by France-based Lafarge SA.

Outside of the civil construction business, Mr. Tanenbaum is very well known as the Chairman of Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment Ltd., a Governor on the Executive Committees of the NHL, NBA, and MLS, and as a member of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame. He is a noted philanthropist and supporter of medical research in Canada, having co-founded the Ludenfeld Research Institute at Mount Sinai Hospital and serving on numerous hospital, university, and charitable Boards. In recognition of his contributions in the areas of philanthropy, business, and volunteerism, he was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2007, and granted an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Toronto in 2012.

Mr. Tanenbaum is a natural choice for induction into the Road Building Hall of Fame, as his work stands out for his dedication and contributions to the industry and community more broadly. He joins a distinguished list or prior inductees, including:

  • Leo McArthur           2006
  • King Beamish          2006
  • Marcel Labelle        2006
  • M.F. MacDonald      2006
  • R.J. Merlo                 2006
  • Les Cruickshank     2007
  • Donald McQuigge   2008
  • Denis Evans            2008
  • Roy Steed                2008
  • Charles Lawrence  2009
  • Russel Cox              2009
  • William Graham     2010
  • William Doherty      2010
  • Bruce Evans            2011
  • Ted Armstrong       2012
  • Elgin Armstrong     2012

The Ontario Road Builders’ Association Congratulates Lavis Contracting Company Ltd., the 2012 MTO Paver of the Year

The Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA), in partnership with the Ministry of Transportation (MTO), is pleased to announce Lavis Contracting Company Ltd. as the 2012 MTO Paver of the Year for their work on Highway 21 from Sheppardton north to Kingsbridge.

The Provincial Paver of the Year Award is presented annually at the ORBA Convention by the Ministry of Transportation (MTO). The award recognizes one winner and three finalists for excellence in hot mix paving on a project completed in the award year.  Projects are judged on a number of criteria, including: smoothness, night paving, completion, workmanship, mix quality, and others.

“Ontario’s road builders are continually striving to improve the quality of product that they deliver,” said ORBA Executive Director Geoff Wilkinson. “This award is a celebration of the quality workmanship that our members deliver. ORBA offers its sincere congratulations to Lavis Contracting Company for winning Paver of the Year for 2012, and to Aecon Construction and Materials Ltd., Coco Paving Ltd., and R.W. Tomlinson Ltd., for their honorable mentions.”

“ORBA is pleased to congratulate Lavis Construction Company as the winner of the 2012 Paver of the Year, and applauds its dedication to delivering a quality product to the motoring public.” said ORBA President, John Blake.

Lavis’ Highway 21 project scored excellent ratings on its hot mix, which consistently met the MTO’s specification requirements. The ride quality and workmanship of the project area was graded as excellent by the MTO, which resulted in an extremely uniform mat. Workmanship at all joints was especially good and the overall finish and appearance of the job was considered exceptional.

Three finalists were also recognized for their quality work. They were:

  • Aecon Construction and Materials Ltd. – recognized for their work on Highway 403 Eastbound Collector Lanes in Mississauga and various other locations on Highways 401, 427 and QEW. They were recognized for their superior work under difficult circumstances, including high traffic volumes, night paving, and other contractors working in the area.
  • R.W. Tomlinson Ltd. – distinguished for their work on Highway 17, from 1.3 kms east of Highway 533 easterly for 8 km. They were recognized for their excellent workmanship, demonstrated by the very smooth surface of the asphalt and uniform mat, and the fact that no segregation was observed on the project.
  • Coco Paving Ltd. – acknowledged for their work on Highway 401 Eastbound and Westbound Lanes from Mitchell Road Easterly to County Road 41, Napanee. They were recognized for the excellent quality of their work, which included increasing the thickness of hot mix at their own cost to ensure a good ride over areas of severely cracked concrete.

The Ontario Road Builders’ Association is the voice of road-building contractors who build and maintain Ontario’s provincial roads, bridges and highways, as well as transit infrastructure. In addition ORBA boasts approximately 100 associate members who supply products and equipment to the industry. To learn more about ORBA go to



SOURCE: Ontario Road Builders’ Association